From Argentina with cheese

Cheese and dulce de batatas

Cheese and dulce de batatas

My father and V. got back from France. V brought hard comté cheese. And what do I happen to have in my fridge? Homemade dulce de batas, a South-American paste/jelly made from sweet potatoes.

They are supposed to be good together. I can confirm that after only one bite!

Give it a try!

お父さんとV.はフランスで休みをしました。V.はチーズをもってきました。

れいぞうこに”Dulce de batatas”がありました。南アメリカのあまいいものわがしです。

かたいチーズとDulceはうまいですうよ。

My recipe* for dulce de batatas:
(Adapted from a recipe without agar. I cannot find the original source anymore, so I am sad I cannot give credit to the original publisher. Thank you for any feedback!)

Ingredients

  • 500 grams of sweet potatoes or yams (according to your taste)
  • 250 ml water
  • 125g sugar (I use rough cane sugar)
  • 1 tsp of lemon juice
  • a pinch of cinnamon and vanilla
  • 2 grams of agar (if you want it to be more jelly-like)

Directions

  • Peel  the sweet potatoes, slice them in 4 parts and cut thing slices
  • Boil those with the lemon juice, water, sugar, vanilla (and agar if you wish) for 30 minutes
  • Add the cinnamon and give those potatoes a good mash!
  • Refrigerate to stiffen.
  • Make slices or blocks or however you like it. Enjoy!

I don’t know how long exactly  it lasts. I usually finish it in a week’s time and it stays in my fridge.

As we say in Dutch: smakelijk!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Looks yummy! And thanks for sharing the recipe. You can make business of it.

    Beantwoorden

  2. You are welcome 🙂 I’m getting interested in Japanese sweets (wagashi) that are usually served with green tea. Some of them are quite elaborate! But finding non-Japanese sweets that go well with it is very rewarding 🙂

    Beantwoorden

Geef een reactie

